Qantas Wallabies fall short in tight Cardiff battle

by Rugby Australia

2018 Spring Tour Qantas Wallabies v Wales Principality Stadium, Cardiff Saturday 10 November 2018

Australia 6 (Bernard Foley pen, Matt Toomua pen) defeated by Wales 9 (Leigh Halfpenny 2 pens, Dan Biggar pen)

Match summary:

The Qantas Wallabies have suffered a narrow defeat to Wales in a grinding, tryless contest at Principality Stadium in Cardiff early this morning (AEDT).

Wales emerged victorious for the first time in 14 Tests against the Australians, with replacement back Dan Biggar’s 77th minute penalty goal the decisive blow in a contest that ended 9-6 in favour of the home side.

The Wallabies created enough scoring opportunities but were let down by errors at key moments, while Wales caused problems at the breakdown namely through their busy number 7, Justin Tipuric who took home man of the match honours.

Wales also squandered good attacking chances in a second half that was punctuated by errors and penalties as both sides protected their tryline.

The victory was the seventh on the trot for Wales, and their desperation was evident as they searched for their first win over the Wallabies in a decade.

Michael Hooper’s men turned down two opportunities to shoot for goal as they attempted to keep the foot on the pedal to find a breakthrough try in the second half, but eventually drew level at 6-all when Matt Toomua landed a tricky penalty goal attempt in the 75th minute.

However, just two minutes later Wales answered with another three-pointer in the game’s final scoring act.

As it happened:

22 mins: Leigh Halfpenny pen AUS 0-3 WAL

34 mins: Bernard Foley pen AUS 3-3 WAL

68 mins: Leigh Halfpenny pen AUS 3-6 WAL

75 mins: Matt Toomua pen AUS 6-6 WAL

77 mins: Dan Bigger pen AUS 6-9 WAL

Qantas Wallabies

15. Dane Haylett-Petty

14. Israel Folau

13. Samu Kerevi

12. Kurtley Beale

11. Sefa Naivalu (23. Jack Maddocks, 68 mins)

10. Bernard Foley (22. Matt To’omua, 65 mins)

9. Will Genia

8. David Pocock

7. Michael Hooper ©

6. Jack Dempsey (20. Ned Hanigan, 71 mins)

5. Adam Coleman (19. Rob Simmons, 60 mins)

4. Izack Rodda

3. Allan Alaalatoa (18. Taniela Tupou, 56 mins)

2. Tolu Latu (16. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 56 mins)

1. Scott Sio (17. Sekope Kepu, 60 mins)

*replacements in brackets


15. Leigh Halfpenny

14. George North

13. Jonathan Davies

12. Hadleigh Parkes

11. Josh Adams

10. Gareth Anscombe

9. Gareth Davies

8. Ross Moriarty

7. Justin Tipuric

6. Dan Lidiate

5. Alun Wyn Jones

4. Adam Beard

3. Tomas Francis

2. Ken Owens

1. Nicky Smith


16. Elliott Dee

17. Rob Evans

18. Dillon Lewis

19. Cory Hill

20. Ellis Jenkins

21. Tomos Williams

22. Dan Biggar

23. Liam Williams

Match Notes:

Wales first victory over Australia since 2008 Australia third loss in 15 Tests at Principality Stadium