Aussie Women unchanged for Canada Sevens

· Womens-Langford
by Rugby Australia

The Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens squad remains unchanged for penultimate round of the HSBC Women’s Sevens World Series, the Canada Sevens in Langford.  

Australia will chase valuable series points with only two rounds left of the HSBC Sevens World Series. The top four teams will automatically qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.     

Australia has been placed in Pool A alongside Ireland, Brazil and Canada.  

The Aussie 7s will be looking to make amends from their sixth-place finish from Kitakyushu last round where Australia fell to New Zealand in fifth place final. 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach, John Manenti said: “We have made improvements in Japan, across many areas but we let ourselves down in a few big moments. If we can be consistent with our good form, we will push higher up the ladder.

“As a group we have laid down the challenge to the starting 12 to go out there and fix our consistency and continue to improve our performance on the field. 

“We have shown faith in some of the more established players in the squad to bounce back after an uncharacteristic performance in Kitakyushu and I know they will.

“Charlotte (Caslick) was outstanding in her first performance back from injury and we’re looking forward to seeing her go from strength to strength in Langford.” 

Day one will be streamed LIVE through World Rugby’s digital channels. 

Qantas Australian Women's Sevens for Langford 

1. Samantha Treherne, 5 caps, Griffith University 
2. Sharni Williams (c), 32 caps, University of Canberra 
3. Sariah Paki, 3 caps, Macquarie University 
4. Yasmin Meakes, 7 caps, University of Canberra 
5. Emma Tonegato, 26 caps, University of Adelaide 
6. Evania Pelite, 25 caps, University of Adelaide 
7. Charlotte Caslick (c), 29 caps, Bond University, 
8. Lily Dick, 3 caps, University of Queensland 
9. Emma Sykes, 15 caps, University of Tasmania 
10. Alicia Quirk, 28 caps, University of New England 
11. Mahalia Murphy, 9 caps, University of Adelaide 
12. Ellia Green, 23 caps, University of Tasmania 
13th TBC 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Fixtures, Canada Sevens
Sunday 12 May

Australia v Ireland, 4.06am AEST 
Australia V Brazil, 6.50am AEST 
Australia v Canada, 9.56am AEST