University of Technology Sydney set to join 2019 Aon University Sevens Series

· Uni 7s
by Rugby Australia
The University of Technology, Sydney (UTS) has today confirmed that it will be the latest team to join the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series.

UTS joins the University of Western Australia (UWA) as the two new sides that will compete in the Series this year following on from the successful first two seasons played across the country.

Now in its third season, the Aon University Sevens Series continues to provide a national pathway for elite Women’s Sevens talent, allowing the best players from the Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens team to mix it with Australia’s best on a domestic level.

University pride will again be on the line as the ten sides from across Australia battle it out to see who can be crowned 2019 champions.

UTS will be coached by former Macquarie University’s Rays Head Coach, Nath McMahon with UTS to be the second University from the harbour city alongside arch rivals, the University of Sydney.

Rounding out the challengers in this year’s competition will be defending Series champions Griffith University, University of Queensland, Bond University (Gold Coast), University of New England, the University of Sydney, University of Technology Sydney, University of Canberra, University of Melbourne, Adelaide University and the University of Western Australia.

The 2019 Series rounds, and locations will be confirmed by Rugby Australia in the coming weeks.

Rugby Australia Chief Executive, Raelene Castle said: “It’s fantastic for the Aon University Sevens Series that we have a University with the standing and resources of UTS joining the competition for this year.

“The Aon University Sevens Series continues to be an exciting new competition that provides a national platform to develop and grow Women’s Sevens, uncover the next generation of elite talent, whilst also creating some excellent content for fans.

“The competition went from strength to strength over the last two seasons and I know season three will be bigger and better than ever.”

ActivateUTS Chief Executive Elizabeth Morgan-Brett said: “As the delivering agent for all UTS Sport, ActivateUTS is thrilled to be competing in Women’s AON Sevens this year.

“Our athletes will take the field and compete against Australian’s best, with the driver being selection in the Aussie Women’s Sevens Team that will compete at the Tokyo Olympics next year.”

University of Western Australia Sport General Manager, Ian Fitzpatrick said: "UWA is excited to represent itself and the wider WA Rugby community through its support of a dynamic and talented team in the 2019 and 2020 competitions."

"The unique structure of the competition, its value to the student-athlete cohort at UWA and impact we believe it can have for rugby on campus are all keys drivers in our being involved.

“Equally, we are continuing to work on how we connect the program to deliver student outcomes in work integrated learning, leadership, team management, and future research, ensuring the program delivers on and off the park.

"Competitions like the Aon University Sevens Series are important in recognising and highlighting the value that Universities and University Sport Australia bring to the wider sporting structure in Australia.”

The Macquarie University Rays and the University of Tasmania will not take part in 2019, leaving the Series as a ten-team competition.

Griffith University won the competition in 2018, with the University of Queensland winning in the inaugural season