Rugby Australia confirms new look national match official team for 2020

· Super Rugby
by Rugby Australia

Rugby Australia has today unveiled the new look national match officials team ahead of the opening round of the 2020 Vodafone Super Rugby competition.

The 23-strong team will officiate at all levels of the game within Australia while Super Rugby referees will debut a new look uniform sponsored FedEx Express tonight at GIO Stadium when the Plus500 Brumbies take on the St. George Queensland Reds.

The vibrant new purple, white and orange strip will stand out on-field throughout the Vodafone Super Rugby season, with the FedEx logo to be emblazoned across all National Match Official’s team apparel through till 2021.The renewal of FedEx Express as the official referee sponsor comes following a stand-out year for Australian Match Officials on the world stage

. In Japan, both Nic Berry and Angus Gardiner took to the field during the Rugby World Cup, marking the first time Australia boasted two match officials at a Rugby World Cup since 2003.

Tyler Miller, Maddy Putz, Amy Perrett, Damon Murphy and Jordan Way will also return to the HSBC Sevens World Series with all team members set to take the field at the Sydney 7s this weekend in front of their home crowd.

300131 FedEx Match Officials Girls

While Amber McLachlan will continue her involvement in the International Women’s XV arena taking the reins of her first Women’s Six Nations clash on March 7 when England take on Wales at The Stoop in Twickenham before again taking control of France v Ireland on March 15.

Nic Berry and Angus Gardner have again been recognised on the tier one stage, earning appointments during the Guinness Six Nations taking control of Ireland v Italy in Dublin and Wales v Scotland in Cardiff respectively.

Rugby Australia Chief Commercial Officer, Cameron Murray said: “TNT has been long associated with RugbyAU and our referees and we’re delighted that FedEx Express has continued this support following the integration of the two companies.

“This new two-year agreement with FedEx Express will continue to support our current referees as well as the next generation who were named in the development squads.

“The brand prominence on all of our Super Rugby referee kit is a to fantastic way to continue to promote the FedEx Express brand and their commitment to supporting Rugby in Australia” Murray said.

Vice President, FedEx Express Australasia, Peter Langley said: “FedEx Express has had an extensive history in sports sponsorships, and we are delighted to continue our collaboration with Rugby Australia (Rugby AU) for the new season. Teamwork, speed and reliability are qualities that the rugby sport and FedEx have in common. The values that are required on the pitch, are the same ones we pride ourselves on when we connect people and deliver possibilities to our customers.”

Rugby Australia National Match Referee Manager, Scott Young said: “As a team, we’re excited to kick off the 2020 Rugby season in Australia, and we’re excited to have FedEx Express on-board till 2021.

“Our national team for 2020 is filled with a vast array of experience and has strong representation from across the country.

“Last year we made some key appointments, bringing in both Mitch Chapman and Brendan McKibbin and the impact that they have had in their coaching capacity has seen our representation of referees on the world stage flourish.

“I’d also like to congratulate the five new additions to the national team, with Will, Aaron, Reuben, Richard and James all joining the squad in a development capacity.

"They have all shown a great deal of potential and will work closely alongside Brendan McKibbin to continue to develop.” 

2020 National Match Officials:

Nic Berry, QRRA, Queensland

Damon Murphy, QRRA, Queensland

Angus Gardiner, NSWRRA, New South Wales

Amy Perrett, NSWRRA, New South Wales

Jordan Way, QRRA, Queensland

Graham Cooper, WARURA, Western Australia

Amber McLachlan, VRRA, Victoria

Tyler Miller, WARURA, Western Australia

Maddy Putz, WARURA, Western Australia

2020 Television Match Officials:

Ian Smith, New South Wales

George Ayoub, New South Wales

James Leckie, New South Wales

2020 National Match Official Development Squad:

Reuben Keane, ACTRRA

Will Pugsley, QRRA

Aaron Pook, QRRA

James Quinn, NSWRRA

Richard Manchee, NSWRRA

2020 National Referee Coaches:

Scott Young, National Referee Manager

Mitch Chapman, National Referee Coach

Brendan McKibbin, National Referee Development Coach

Matthew Goddard, Chair of Selection

Anthony Moyes, National Sevens Coordinator

Lauren Kelly, National Women’s Coordinator