Log in

Wallabies Rugby World Cup Pool confirmed for France 2023

Mon, 14/12/2020, 10:00 pm
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

Australia met both Fiji and Wales at the 2015 and 2019 World Cups, with the men in gold finishing top of Pool A in 2015 and second in the Pool D in 2019.

It will be the eighth time Australia has played Wales at the Rugby World Cup and the third consecutive time they have been drawn in the same pool, with the men in gold holding five wins against their Welsh rivals.

The 2023 edition of the tournament will be the tenth time that the Men’s World Cup has been held and is the first time the Rugby World Cup will be hosted in France since 2007 as the Wallabies chase a third World Cup crown.

Tournament hosts France will meet New Zealand, Italy, Americas 1 and Africa 1 in a tough Pool A, with current World Champions, South Africa placed in Pool B alongside Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1 and Europe 2.

Eddie Jones’ England will face Argentina and 2019 hosts, Japan in Pool D alongside Oceania 1 and Americas 2.

The Wallabies are one of the more successful teams in the history of the tournament with Australia having won two World Cups in 1991 and 1999 and made the Final in 2003 and 2015. In 2011 the Wallabies defeated Wales to take out third place.

New Wallabies coach Dave Rennie blooded ten new debutants in 2020 as Australia continues to build towards Rugby’s flagship tournament in 2023.

Wallabies coach, Dave Rennie said: “We’re really excited from a World Cup perspective, it’s a long way off but it makes it a bit of a reality now."

“There’s no easy Pool as we’ve all talked about. If you look at the three teams that we know are confirmed in this Pool they’re all really tough.

“We’re all three years away, our teams are going to change a lot, there’ll be other guys that will come through and I imagine we’ll all be better in three years time.

“There’s so much water to go under the bridge so our focus will be on a really big campaign next year."

Nic White has re-committed to Australian Rugby until the end of next year. Photo: Getty Images
Nic White signs through to 2023 Rugby World Cup
(From L-R): Shannon Edwards, Michael Hooper and Andy Marinos at Rugby Australia. Photo: Christian Gilles
Land Rover to drive Wallabies for three more years
GAME ON! Australia confirmed as host of Rugby World Cup 2027 and 2029
Cadeyrn Neville will be in Brumbies colours again in 2023. Photo: Getty Images
Cadeyrn Neville re-signs with Australian Rugby