Log in

New faces in Junior Wallabies second camp of 2021

Wed, 05/05/2021, 10:00 pm
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia
Nathan Grey has selected his squad for the Junior Wallabies second camp in 2021 | Andrew Phan/RugbyAU Media
Nathan Grey has selected his squad for the Junior Wallabies second camp in 2021 | Andrew Phan/RugbyAU Media

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Nathan Grey has today confirmed his squad for the program’s second camp in 2021.

The 45-man squad includes 11 new additions, replacing existing squad members who attended camp one. The camp provides an opportunity for these new players to push their case for final squad selection leading into the Oceania U20s Championship.

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Nathan Grey said: “It’s always good to get the squad together and compete for positions. The camp provides continued time to work on our gameplay and connection to each other.”

The new additions to the squad are a mix of Super Academy players and club players from Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, and Melbourne who have been identified as performing well and will contribute to the squad’s depth.

Several players have also been selected in their club’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby Trans-Tasman squads. These include Carter Gordon, Glen Vaihu (Rebels), Zane Nongoor, Josh Flook, Kalani Thomas (Reds), Reesjan Pasitoa, Tom Hooper, Billy Pollard (Brumbies)

Assembling on 10 May in Canberra, the training camp will run for a week as the squad continues to refine preparations for the Oceania U20s Championship, scheduled for July.

“It has been great watching the players in their respective Grade and Colts competitions and seeing them perform on the field. The strong club competitions provide that arena for growth and development,” Grey added.

“As a program, we’re excited for our squad members who have been elevated to their Super Rugby squads. That creates an open door for another player to step in and put their best foot forward.”

2021 Junior Wallabies Camp Two Squad:

Lachie Albert, Wests, Brumbies

Tony Alofipo, Queanbeyan Whites, Brumbies

Siosifa Amone*, Associates, Western Force

Reece Anapu, Palmyra Rugby, Western Force

Lastus Aukai*, Brothers, Queensland Reds

Zac Barnabas*, Manly, NSW Waratahs

Wilson Blyth, Bond University, Queensland Reds

Hugh Bokenham, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs

Dan Botha, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs

Adrian Brown, Eastwood, NSW Waratahs

Josh Canham, Harlequins, Melbourne Rebels

Luke Callan*, Wanneroo, Western Force

Nick Chan, Randwick, NSW Waratahs

Zac Crothers, Easts, Queensland Reds

Ben Dowling, Randwick, NSW Waratahs

Timma Faingaanuku, Brothers, Queensland Reds

Mason Gordon, Wests, Melbourne Rebels

Mac Grealy, University of Queensland, Reds

Patrick Maka, Tuggeranong Vikings, Brumbies

Thomas Maka, Gordon, NSW Waratahs

Alex Masibaka, Associates, Western Force

Hamish Moore, Easts, NSW Waratahs

Titi Nofoagatotoa, Brothers, Queensland Reds

Dan O’Brien, Randwick, NSW Waratahs

Irie Papuni*, Easts, NSW Waratahs

George Poolman*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs

Will Roach, University of Queensland, Reds

Andrew Romano, Souths, Queensland Reds

Witika Rees-Hatu*, Gordon, NSW Waratahs

Dion Samuela, Bond University, Queensland Reds

Connor Seve, Wests Scarborough, Western Force

Papillon Sevele, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs

Paddy Tagg*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs

Keynan Tauakipulum, Wests, Queensland Reds

Sione Taufui, Sydney Uni, NSW Waratahs

Tiaan Tauakipulu, Randwick, NSW Waratahs

Taliu Tuia, Unicorns*, Melbourne Rebels

Zephaniah Tuinona, Queanbeyan Whites, Brumbies

Mosese Tuipulotu, Easts, NSW Waratahs

Junior Tupou, Queanbeyan Whites, Brumbies

Glen Vaihu, Melbourne Rebels

Harry Vella, Brothers, Queensland Reds

Louis Werchon*, Brothers, Queensland Reds

Tyrees Wilson*, Easts, Queensland Reds

Teddy Wilson, Easts, NSW Waratahs

*Denotes new squad member.