Australian Schools & U18s tweak side for second test against New Zealand Schools

Sun, Oct 1, 2023, 12:10 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Australian Schools and U18s side has been named for the second Test against New Zealand
The Australian Schools and U18s side has been named for the second Test against New Zealand

Australian Schools and U18s coach Shannon Fraser has freshened up his side for Monday’s second Test against New Zealand Schools.

Fraser has ramped the halves, with Waratahs scrum half Hwi Sharples joining new Rebels recruit Joey Fowler in the halves.

Watch every game of the Rugby World Cup LIVE on Stan Sport. Start watching Stan Sport now.

Fowler starred in Australian U18s & Schools win over Australian U19s Barbarians last year, getting his chance to start after a promising performance from the bench.

Fraser has gone with a new-look lock partnership as Lachlan Doheny partners Queensland’s Avery Thomson.

Number eight Toby Brial is elevated into the starting side, with Samuel Niulala out with injury.

Brial, son of former Wallaby Michael, is joined by fellow vice-captain Aden Ekanayake and Austin Durbridge in the back row.

He is looking to follow in the footsteps of brother Joe, who played as part of the Australian Schools and U18s side that defeated New Zealand in 2019.

Boston Fakafanua starts in the centres alongside Dre Pakeho, whilst playmaker Joe Walsh reverts to fullback.

Rebels backrower Wyatt Ballanger headlines the bench after starting the opening Test.

Samson Tuqiri, son of cross code star Lote, has been added to the backs reserves as Fraser looks for some spark the finish the game

The Australians are coming off a 34-3 defeat to New Zealand in the first game of the two-match series last Thursday.

Monday's clash at Viking Park will be broadcast live and on-demand on Stan Sport.

Australian School & U18s vs. New Zealand Secondary Schools - Viking Park, Canberra, 12.10pm AEDT Monday

1. Nathaniel Tiitii (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)

2. Oliver Barrett (QLD Reds, St Joseph's Nudgee College)

3. Will Goddard (NSW Waratahs, Knox Grammar School)

4. Lachlan Doheny (NSW Waratahs, Eastwood Rugby Club)

5. Avery Thomson (QLD Reds, Brisbane Boys College)

6. Aden Ekanayake (NSW Waratahs, Gordon Rugby Club) (vc)

7. Austin Durbridge (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)

8. Toby Brial (NSW Waratahs, The Scots College) (vc)

9. Hwi Sharples (NSW Waratahs, St Joseph's College) (c)

10. Joey Fowler (Melbourne Rebels, Sydney University Rugby Club)

11. Shane Wilcox (ACT Brumbies, Tuggeranong Vikings Rugby Club)

12. Boston Fakafanua (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)

13. Dre Pakeho (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club)

14. Brendan Palmer (NSW Waratahs, Hunter Wildfires)

15. Joe Walsh (NSW Waratahs, St Augustine's College)


16. Macarius Pereira (QLD Reds, St Joseph's Nudgee College)

17. Lipina Ata (NSW Waratahs, Newington College)

18. Lehopo Leota (QLD Reds, Iona College)

19. Charlie Brosnan (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club) 

20. Fergus Gillan (QLD Reds, The Southport School)

21. Wyatt Ballenger (Melbourne Rebels, Marcellin College)

22. Luca Cleverley (NSW Waratahs, Newington College)

23. Tyrese Lokeni (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)

24. Samson Tuqiri (QLD Reds, Brisbane Boys College)

25. Luke Aiken (QLD Reds, Sunshine Coast Grammar School)

26. Finn Prass (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club)