Berry, Gardner amongst four Aussies selected for Rugby World Cup 2023 match official team

Wed, May 10, 2023, 10:27 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Nic Berry is among four Australians set to officiate at Rugby World Cup 2023. Photo: Getty Images
Nic Berry is among four Australians set to officiate at Rugby World Cup 2023. Photo: Getty Images

World Rugby have confirmed the match officials for Rugby World Cup 2023, with four Australians selected as part of the 26-person team.

Nic Berry and Angus Gardner have been named in the 12-person referee squad for the hallmark tournament.

Catch every game of Super Rugby Pacific LIVE on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

They are joined by England's Wayne Barnes, who will officiate in his fifth World Cup, and Nika Amashukeli, the first Georgian ever to be selected to a World Cup.

Meanwhile, Jordan Way will serve as assistant referee whilst Brett Cronan has been selected as one of seven television match officials (TMO)

"To have four of our elite match officials representing Australia on Rugby's biggest stage is a significant achievement," Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos said.

"Their selection by World Rugby is due recognition of their commitment to their craft and the consistent excellence they deliver in the execution of their roles.

"Nic and Angus have continued to deliver year after year to the highest standards.

"For Jordan and Brett it is just reward for their performances since the last Rugby World Cup.

"We extend our sincere congratulations to Nic, Angus, Jordan and Brett and wish them the best of luck for the tournament."

Rugby World Cup 2023 will make history with Ireland's Joy Neville becoming the first woman to officiate at a men’s Rugby World Cup, taking her place as TMO.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to the 26 match officials selected for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France," Chairman of the Match Officials Selection Committee Graham Mourie added. 

“Like the players, they have earned their place on merit and have worked incredibly hard, making many sacrifices to be in contention for selection.

“I would like to put on record our thanks to them and those who just missed out. It speaks volumes about this group that, like every great team, they have all encouraged each other along the way.

“These men and women are not only representing their nations, they are also representing the global officiating fraternity and truly are ‘everyone’s team’, playing their full part in enabling players to perform to their best at our pinnacle men’s event and we should all get behind them.” 

Referees: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia), Wayne Barnes (England), Nic Berry (Australia), Andrew Brace (Ireland), Matthew Carley (England), Karl Dickson (England), Angus Gardner (Australia), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand), Luke Pearce (England), Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Mathieu Raynal (France), Paul Williams (New Zealand).

Assistant Referees: Chris Busby (Ireland), Pierre Brousset (France), James Doleman (New Zealand), Craig Evans (Wales), Andrea Piardi (Italy), Christophe Ridley (England), Jordan Way (Australia).

Television Match Officials: Brett Cronan (Australia), Tom Foley (England), Marius Jonker (South Africa), Brian MacNeice (Ireland), Joy Neville (Ireland), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand), Ben Whitehouse (Wales).