Wallabies squad confirmed for Bledisloe Cup Tests

Thu, Sep 8, 2022, 2:57 AM
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has confirmed the 36-man squad for the upcoming eToro Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup fixtures against New Zealand.

95-Test back Kurtley Beale has been selected in his first squad since the 2021 Spring Tour, after recovering from a significant hamstring injury sustained in France earlier this year.

Cadeyrn Neville is the only other new inclusion from the group that played South Africa, the Brumbies lock recovering from a knee injury sustained in the side's second Test against England in July.

He replaces Japan-bound Rory Arnold who is unavailable for the matches due to the impending birth of his first child.

The rest of the squad remains unchanged with winger Marika Koroibete in line to play his 50th Test in Melbourne, a city he represented on the Super Rugby stage on 69 occasions.

Queensland Reds fullback Jock Campbell and NSW Waratahs backrower Langi Gleeson are the only two uncapped players in the group.

The first Test will be held at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne next Thursday, the first Bledisloe Cup match in Victoria since 2010, before a return clash at Auckland's Eden Park on September 24.

The side will assemble tomorrow and currently sits second on the eToro Rugby Championship ladder with just two rounds remaining.

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “It's great to be able to keep the core of our group together and welcome Cadeyrn back to the mob, while we wish Rory all the best for what's an incredibly exciting time for him and his family."

"Kurtley is a welcome return to the squad after recovering from a long-term injury and will bring his passion for the jersey along with his wealth of experience at Test level.

"We know how important these next two Tests are with silverware on the line and we'll be expecting a response after the disappointment of last weekend's loss."

Tickets to The eToro Rugby Championship are available for purchase at wallabies.rugby/tickets.

Watch every Wallabies Test ad-free, live & on Demand on Stan Sport and the Nine Network. Start your free Stan Sport trial now.

Squad summary

Total Test caps: 956

Average Test caps: 27

Average age: 26

Uncapped players: 2 (Jock Campbell, Langi Gleeson)

Most capped: James Slipper (121 Tests)

Youngest member: Langi Gleeson, 21

Oldest member: Cadeyrn Neville, 33

Breakdown: Brumbies 14, Queensland Reds 8, NSW Waratahs 7, Melbourne Rebels 5, Overseas clubs 2

Wallabies squad for New Zealand Tests (age, team, Tests played)

Allan Alaalatoa (28, ACT Brumbies, 58 Tests)

Kurtley Beale (31, NSW Waratahs, 95 Tests)

Angus Bell (21, NSW Waratahs, 19 Tests)

Jock Campbell (27, Queensland Reds, uncapped)

Pone Fa'amausili (25, Melbourne Rebels, 1 Test)

Folau Fainga'a (27, ACT Brumbies, 31 Tests)

Lalakai Foketi (27, NSW Waratahs, 2 Tests)

Bernard Foley (32, Kubota Spears, 71 Tests)

Nick Frost (22, ACT Brumbies, 4 Tests)

Langi Gleeson (21, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)

Jake Gordon (29, NSW Waratahs, 14 Tests)

Reece Hodge (28, Melbourne Rebels, 59 Tests)

Jed Holloway (29, NSW Waratahs, 4 Tests)

Len Ikitau (23, ACT Brumbies, 19 Tests)

Andrew Kellaway (26, Melbourne Rebels, 16 Tests)

Marika Koroibete (30, Saitama Wild Knights, 49 Tests)

Rob Leota (25, Melbourne Rebels, 12 Tests)

Noah Lolesio (22, ACT Brumbies, 14 Tests)

Lachlan Lonergan (22, ACT Brumbies, 6 Tests)

Tate McDermott (23, Queensland Reds, 18 Tests)

Fraser McReight (23, Queensland Reds, 6 Tests)

Cadeyrn Neville (33, ACT Brumbies, 2 Tests)

Hunter Paisami (24, Queensland Reds, 20 Tests)

Jordan Petaia (22, Queensland Reds, 20 Tests)

Matt Philip (28, Melbourne Rebels, 26 Tests)

David Porecki (29, NSW Waratahs, 5 Tests)

Pete Samu (30, ACT Brumbies, 26 Tests)

Scott Sio (30, ACT Brumbies, 73 Tests)

James Slipper (33, ACT Brumbies, 121 Tests)

Darcy Swain (25, ACT Brumbies, 15 Tests)

Taniela Tupou (26, Queensland Reds, 43 Tests)

Rob Valetini (24, ACT Brumbies, 25 Tests)

Suliasi Vunivalu (26, Queensland Reds, 1 Test)

Nic White (32, ACT Brumbies, 54 Tests)

Harry Wilson (22, Queensland Reds, 11 Tests)

Tom Wright (25, ACT Brumbies, 16 Tests)

2022 eToro Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Fixtures

Wallabies 41 defeated Argentina 26, Sunday 7 August at Estadio Malvinas, Mendoza

Wallabies 17 defeated by Argentina 48, Sunday 13 August at Estadio del Bicentenario, San Juan

Wallabies 25 defeated South Africa 17, Saturday 27 August at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Wallabies 8 defeated by South Africa 24, Saturday 3 September at Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v New Zealand, Thursday 15 September, 7:45pm AEST at Marvel Stadium, Melbourne

Wallabies v New Zealand, Saturday 24 September, 5:05pm AEST at Eden Park, Auckland