Rugby Australia Awards 2023: All the info you need to know

Mon, Apr 24, 2023, 12:14 AM
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

The 2023 edition of the Rugby Australia Awards have been announced

As last year, the awards will be released across February and March to celebrate an incredible year of Rugby.

It will conclude with the awarding of the John Eales Medal, with Wallabies winger Marka Koroibete winning his second award

Check out all the details for the 2023 Rugby Australia Awards below

Harvey Norman Super Rugby Player of the Year - Rob Valetini

The Super Rugby Player of the Year is awarded to the standout player from the 2022 Super Rugby season from the Australian clubs.

Brumbies enforcer Valetini claimed the award after guiding the club to the semi-finals.

Click here for more information


2021: James O'Connor (Reds)

2019: Samu Kerevi (Reds)

2018: Taniela Tupou (Reds)

2017: Amanaki Mafi (Rebels)

Community Awards

The Community Awards recognises all the incredible contributors to the great game of Rugby.

It aims to celebrate Rugby at all stages, especially at the grassroots level.

These awards include Volunteer of the Year, Joe French Award for Outstanding Contribution to Rugby, Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award and Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby

Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award - Mick Heenan

Former UQ boss Mick Heenan has been named Community Coach of the Year.

Heenan has created a dynasty at the club, rewarded for his long tenure with a call-up into the Reds' coaching staff for 2023.

Click here for more information on Heenan and his journey

Joe French Award for Outstanding Contributions to Rugby - Jeff Miller
Volunteer of the Year - Nicola Henderson

Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year - Ivania Wong

The Super W Player of Year looks at the best player during the 2022 Super W competition from the Australian clubs.

2022 saw the Fijiana Drua claim their first ever title, capping off a historic year for the expansion club.

Last season lead to a number of players making their Wallaroos debut after breakout seasons.

No player represents this better than Ivania Wong, with the Reds winger claiming the award in 2022

Click here for more information


2021: Lucy Lockhart (Reds)

2020: Ema Masi (Brumbies)

2019: Tayla Stanford (Brumbies)

2018: Shanice Parker (NSW)

Fedex Referee of the Year - Nic Berry

The Referee of the Year is awarded to the standout Australian Rugby referee across either Sevens or the 15-a-side format.

It is awarded to the referee who demonstrates high standards of officiating and is considered to be a role model for the game in Australia.

Nic Berry has won the award for a third-straight year after taking charge in the Six Nations and Rugby Championship amongst other high-profile events.


2021: Nic Berry

2019: Nic Berry

2018: Angus Gardner

2017: Angus Gardner

Rookie of the Year - Nick Frost

Rookie of the Year is awarded to the player who is deemed to have been the most outstanding first year player in Australia in the last 12 months.

They must have made their debut for either the Wallabies, Wallaroos or Aust 7's teams on or since the opening game in the current rugby season

The award has been given to Nick Frost after establishing himself as a key figure in the Wallabies' set-up in 2022.

Click here for more information


2021: Andrew Kellaway

2019: Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Jordan Petaia

2018: Taniela Tupou

2017: Ned Hanigan

Cadbury Try of the Year - Lalakai Foketi v France

The Try of the Year is awarded to the best try scored by an Australian across the past 12 months.

This includes Wallabies, Wallaroos, Super Rugby, Super W and Sevens.

In an exciting year, Lalakai Foketi and the Wallabies claim the gong after their long-range effort against France during the Spring Tour.

Click here to watch


2021: Taniela Tupou v South Africa, Brisbane

2019: Nic White v New Zealand, Perth

2018: Taqele Naiyaravoro v Rebels (Round 5 – Super Rugby)

2017: Joe Powell v Hurricanes (Round 2 - Super Rugby)

Shawn Mackay Awards

The Shawn Mackay Awards celebrates the best Sevens players from 2022.

It is awarded to the standout and most consistent Australian Men's and Women's Sevens player across the last 12 months.

Both sides finished 2022 as the World Series champions, with the Women completing a historic Triple Crown.

Women’s Sevens Player of the Year - Charlotte Caslick

Charlotte Caslick has capped off an incredible 12 months with her third-straight Shawn Mackay Medal.

Caslick was the clear winner after being named World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year following Australia's Triple Crown heroics in 2022.

Men’s Sevens Player of the Year - Corey Toole

Corey Toole has been recognised for his breakout year with the Shawn Mackay Medal.

Toole had one of the best years in Sevens history, helping Australia to their maiden World Series title.

He scored 43 tries from 51 games, since making the switch to the 15-a-side format where he has emerged as a Wallabies bolter


2021: Henry Hutchison & Charlotte Caslick

2019: Maurice Longbottom & Charlotte Caslick

2018: Ben O'Donnell & Evania Pelite

2017: James Stannard & Chloe Dalton

Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of the Year - Georgina Friedrichs

The Wallaroos Player of the Year is awarded to the best and most consistent Women's player across the last 12 months.

It must be a representative of Australia's national women's team (Wallaroos XV) and recognises the female Australian Rugby player that has shown the most outstanding on-field performance over the last 12 months

Centre Georgina Friedrichs takes out the award after a breakout 2022 campaign saw the Waratah establish herself as a key piece of their squad.

Click here for more information


2022: Georgina Friedrichs

2019: Grace Hamilton

2018: Emily Chancellor

2017: Hillisha Samoa

John Eales Medal - Marika Koroibete

Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete has been named the 2022 John Eales Medalist.

It is the second time Koroibete has won the award voted on by the players, initially winning the award in 2019.

Koroibete edged out Rob Valetini (170 votes) and Allan Alaalatoa (168 votes) despite the 30-year-old missing the Spring Tour.

Click here for more information


2021: Michael Hooper

2020: Michael Hooper

2019: Marika Koroibete

2018: David Pocock

2017: Israel Folau

2016: Michael Hooper

2015: Israel Folau

2014: Israel Folau

2013: Michael Hooper

2012: Nathan Sharpe

2011: Kurtley Beale

2010: David Pocock

2009: Matt Giteau

2008: George Smith

2007: Nathan Sharpe

2006: Chris Latham

2005: Jeremy Paul

2004: David Lyons

2003: Phil Waugh

2002: George Smith