Charlotte Caslick and Mahalia Murphy return for HSBC Sevens World Series

· Womens - Kitakyushu
by Rugby Australia

The Qantas Australian Women’s team has been named for round four of the HSBC Sevens World Series in Kitakyushu with Mahalia Murphy to earn her first cap since Dubai 2017 and Charlotte Caslick to return from injury.  

Caslick has been unavailable for selection since injuring her hand at the HSBC Dubai Sevens late last year and will make her International return to Rugby in Japan. 

Australia will meet China, Spain and Canada in Pool B as the women in gold look to progress to the top eight finals and chase valuable World Series points. 

The Aussies are presently fourth on the HSBC Sevens World Series ladder on 46 points, in a tight tussle with Canada (46 points) to rein in the USA (48 points) and New Zealand (60 points). 

The top four sides at the end of the Series will qualify automatically for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.   

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach, John Manenti said: “It’s been a long time since the HSBC Sydney 7s and the squad have had the best training block we’ve on the past twelve months. 

“On the back of that, this was the hardest squad I’ve had to select and gives us great confidence going into the tournament. 

“Welcoming Charlotte back into the fold is exciting for the group. We know what Charlotte can do to defences with ball in hand and her work rate in attack is phenomenal. 

“It’s also great for Mahalia Murphy that she gets her first cap in over a year. Mahalia has been working very hard on her athleticism and has forced her way in on the back of consistent performances and an excellent training attitude.” 

Not considered for selection due to injury was Demi Hayes, Dom Do Toit and Shannon Parry.  

Womens 7s Squad for Japan

1. Samantha Treherne, 14 caps, Griffith University
2. Sharni Williams (c), 31 caps, University of Canberra
3. Sariah Paki, 2 caps, Macquarie University
4. Yasmin Meakes, 6 caps, University of Canberra
5. Emma Tonegato, 25 caps, University of Adelaide
6. Evania Pelite, 24 caps, University of Adelaide
7. Charlotte Caslick (c), 28 caps, Bond University,
8. Lily Dick, 2 caps, University of Queensland
9. Emma Sykes, 14 caps, University of Tasmania
10. Alicia Quirk, 29 caps, University of New England
11. Mahalia Murphy, 8 caps, University of Adelaide
12. Ellia Green, 25 caps, University of Tasmania
13th Lauren Brown

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Fixtures:

Saturday 20 April
Australia v China, 12.36pm AEST 
Australia v Spain, 3.20pm AEST
Australia v Canada, 6.04pm AEST