Updates to Rugby AU's Development Programs as of June 2019

by Rugby Australia

Below is an updates to Rugby Australia's Development Programs as of June 2019.

At the end of May, the State co-ordinators of the Rugby AU Development Groups met to re-evaluate the two groups. When we launched the new development programs in December, we did say that we expected turnover within the groups to allow people to press for inclusion based on their performance through the first portion of the year.

Rugby AU is pleased to announce that Ned Carrick (QLD) has been added to the Rugby AU Premiership Group, and eight referees have been added to the Rugby AU Development Group: 

Kirra Burke (ACT), Rhianna Burke (ACT), Tom Chadwick (NSW), Tom Dowse (QLD), Andrew Hingston (NSW), Jordan Kaminski (WA), Liam Kennedy (VIC), Michael Oliver (NSW).

Congratulations to all! Please see below the new groupings. The groups will be further re-evaluated every four months.

Premiership Group

Referees who Rugby AU consider of a standard that they could be regularly appointed to 2nd Grade Premiership in Sydney/Brisbane or higher.

QLD: Peter Buchanan, Jr., Ned Carrick, Brett Cronan, Cholm Johnson, Nick Leask, Duncan Male, Aaron Pook, Andrew Twist

NSW: David Conway, Jack Gohl, Max Fulton, Greg Johnstone, Matt Kellahan, Richard Manchee, James Marshall, Colm McCaughan, Tom Nicholl, James Quinn, Brad Smith

NSW Country: Jarryd Logan, Dru Tonks, Kev Twomey

ACT: Brodie Ingram, Reuben Keane

WA: Mark Sherriff

VIC: Oli Kellett, Amber McLachlan, Shannon McLachlan

Development Group

Referees who have refereed at least 1 year of adult rugby (generally in age group 19-30) in whom Rugby AU see the potential to referee at a 1st Grade level (local). Maximum of 3 years in the group.

QLD: Alec Camplin, Tom Dowse, Jeremy Markey, Charlie Marshall, George Myers, Lara West

NSW: James Boyer, Tom Chadwick, Oliver Herbert, Andrew Hingston, Michael Oliver

NSW Country: Xavier Edwards, Nik Gaal, Jared Lynch

ACT: Mitch Beissner, Kirra Burke, Rhianna Burke, Harry Fenton

WA: Jordan Kaminski, Tom Pascoe, Michael Ward

VIC: Liam Kennedy

School Student Scholarship 

One-year program for referees in their final year of school (or equivalent year if in vocational training) who show commitment to refereeing after they leave school, and demonstrate potential to referee at a high level.

QLD: Jack Atthow, Andrew Balch, Max Chandler, Addison Hickman, Jimmi Thompson, Thomas Wallis, Luca Wilson

NSW: Angus Cameron, Ben Higgins, Sam Jagoe-Fisher, Jack Jones, Marcus Karozis, Cian McCann, Hamish McKay, Elliot Porter, Fred Regan, Alec Silins, Anders Steglick, William Taylor, Ben Tuckfield

NSW Country: Dylan Whitelaw

ACT: Hayden Pepper

WA: Rourke Tuxworth

VIC: Matt Manester

TAS: Matilda Grant