Log in

#DreamBigTime Squads selected for upcoming Sevens tournaments

Thu, 12/09/2019, 8:00 pm
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia
Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart Walmsley
Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart Walmsley

Following months of touring the country in the search for future First Nations Rugby talent, Rugby Australia’s High Performance staff have today announced two squads to compete in various national competitions.

The squads which contain 20 male and female First Nations players will assemble for three-day training camp from October 25–27 in Sydney.

Following the camp, the two squads will go on to compete in the Western Sydney 7’s and Hottest 7’s in Darwin, finishing out a monumental year competing at the Dubai International Invitational tournament, coinciding with Round 1 of the Men’s World Series and Round 2 of the Women’s World Series.

The two squads were selected following a three-day national talent camp at the Narrabeen Sports Centre in August, and boast players aged between 17 and 25, hailing from some of the country’s most remote locations including Thursday Island, Alice Springs and Goondiwindi.

#DreamBigTime Project Lead Jarred Hodges said: “It hasn’t been an easy task arriving at these two 20-strong squads because the talent on display at the camp in August exceeded all expectations.

“While there are only 40 players named here, we have extensive shadow squads who all have their bags packed and ready to jump into the program at a moment’s notice.

“From here, the squads will come together in preparation for the upcoming tournaments. But we will also be continuing the off-field education around health, social and emotional well-being, leadership and identity which is at the core of this program.

“This is a holistic program designed to not only provide access and opportunity for talented athletes but also to address a number of the social issues that impact our First Nations communities.”


Courtney Currie, Taree

Grace Kemp, Canberra

Breanna Raymond, Gold Coast

Leilanie Andrews, Taree

Renae Nona, Brisbane

Alahna Ryan, Dubbo

Lilly-Ann Mason, Forbes

Jana-Lee Conroy, Brewarrina

Kazzia Lammon, Brisbane

Tshinta Kendall, Gold Coast

Babetha Nona, Townsville

Nahlani Ah Kit, Townsville

Tallulah Mohammed, Ballina

Kobe Nona, Canberra

Illarrah Roberts, Ballina

Breanna Green, Port Macquarie

Hagiga Moseby, Thursday Island

Zara Johnson-Gamia, Bundaberg

Mackensie Hudson, Townsville

Kodi Wright, Normanton


Denzel Burns, Toowoomba

Rohan Armstrong, Alice Springs

Deon Evans-Ao, Penrith

David Armstrong, Goondiwindi

Bailey Collins, Sydney

Clynton Edwards, Bourke

Dylan McIachlan, Wagga Wagga

Tyrone Phillips, Sydney

Jayden Kitchener-Waters, Sydney

Hudson Berry, Sydney

Mark O'Dare, Sydney

Jordan Remfrey, Sydney

Albert Nona, Ipswich

Darren Caulton Jnr, Darwin

Tareq Parter, Townsville

Isiah Kawane, Townsville

Harley Lester, Sydney

Gage Phillips, Sydney

Tyson Fuller, Sydney

Danny Allende, Sydney