Rugby Australia Awards to be announced over weeklong series

by Rugby Australia

The 2020 Rugby Australia Awards will be announced to fans over a week-long series as the game celebrates its best and brightest in 2020.

Announced every day at 12pm AEDT via Rugby Australia’s social media platforms, fans will have the opportunity to celebrate the many players and people who have made their mark on the game this year.

The Series will kick off with the Shawn Mackay Award, Women’s Sevens player of the year, before moving into Buildcorp Super W and Vodafone Super Rugby and culminating with the Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award and the 2021 John Eales Medal Winner.

Rugby Australia Interim CEO, Rob Clarke said: “It is unfortunate that this year, we won’t be able to celebrate together as a community, the many wonderful athletes and achievements of 2020 but we are looking forward to applauding our many winners across all aspects of the game.

“Rugby in 2020 has had challenges, but we have emerged from this year a stronger, more united, and ready for what is going to a groundbreaking 2021.

“The winners over the next week represent the best of our sport and I look forward to celebrating their achievements with our fantastic fans.”

2020 Rugby Australia Awards:

12pm, Tuesday 8 December, Shawn Mackay Award- Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

12pm, Wednesday 9 December, Shawn Mackay Award- Men’s Sevens Player of the Year

12pm, Thursday 10 December, Buildcorp Super W Player of the year

12pm, Friday 11 December, Vodafone Super Rugby AU Player of the Year

12pm, Saturday 12 December, Roger Vanderfield FedEx Referee of the Year

12pm, Sunday 13 December, Rugby Australia Rookie of the year

12pm, Monday 14 December, Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award

12pm, Tuesday 15 December, John Eales Medal