Rugby Australia pays tributes to 2021 Queen's Birthday honours recipients

by Rugby Australia

Rugby Australia has today paid tribute to the code’s Queen's Birthday Honours recipients for 2021.

A total of five recipients were acknowledged for their services to Rugby Union with the Member in the General Division (AM), headlined by former Wallaby and Australian Rugby President, Dr John Coolican and NSWRU Board Director, Ms Kerry Chikarovski.

Mr Craig Phillips of NSW also joined Coolican and Chikarovski in the general division of the Order of Australia (AM) for his contribution to sporting organisations.

Mr Michael Brown of NSW and Mr Ewan Palmer of Queensland rounded our Rugby’s Honour list, being awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to the community and Rugby Union.

Rugby Australia Chief Executive Andy Marinos said: “Today we send a special thanks to Rugby’s Honours recipients; each has made an outstanding contribution to Rugby across our community.

“Among the recipients, we have a former Wallaby and a large number of administrators, highlighting the ongoing and dedicated work of those in our community to ensure games are played year-round.

“It is a great time of year to reflect upon the incredible contributions of so many people make to Rugby, especially with a number of state championships on this weekend.

"We are a sport driven by an army of volunteers whose passion and dedication continues to provide the lifeblood of our game.”